The Aardwolf (Proteles cristata) is an insectivorous mammal, native to East and Southern Africa. The aardwolf is in the same family as the hyena. Unlike many of its relatives in the order Carnivora, the aardwolf does not hunt large animals. It eats insects and their larvae, mainly termites; one aardwolf can lap up as many as 250,000 termites during a single night using its long, sticky tongue.
The aardwolf lives in the shrublands of eastern and southern Africa – open lands covered with stunted trees and shrubs. It is nocturnal, resting in burrows during the day and emerging at night to seek food.




Return to list "Mammals Photographed"

Striped Hyena


The Striped Hyena (Hyaena hyaena) is a species of hyena native to North and East Africa, the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.  It is also the national animal of Lebanon.
It is the smallest of the true hyenas. The Striped Hyena is a monogamous animal, with both males and females assisting one another in raising their cubs. A nocturnal animal, the striped hyena typically only emerges in complete darkness and is quick to return to its lair before sunrise.




Return to list "Mammals Photographed"

Brown Hyena


The Brown Hyena (Hyaena brunnea) is a species of hyena found in Namibia, Botswana, western and southern Zimbabwe, southern Mozambique and South Africa. It is currently the rarest species of hyena. The largest remaining brown hyena population is located in the southern Kalahari Desert and coastal areas in Southwest Africa.
The Brown Hyena inhabits desert areas, semi-desert, and open woodland savannahs. It can survive close to urban areas by scavenging. It favors rocky, mountainous areas, as they provide shade and it is not dependent on the ready availability of water sources for frequent drinking.




Return to list "Mammals Photographed"



Pumas (Puma concolor) are large, secretive cats. They are also commonly known as cougars and mountain lions and are able to reach larger sizes than some other "big" cat individuals. Despite their large size, they are thought to be more closely related to smaller feline species. The seven subspecies of pumas all have similar characteristics but tend to vary in color and size. Pumas live in a variety of habitats, including desert scrub, chaparral, swamps, and forests, but they avoid agricultural areas, flatlands, and other habitats lacking a cover.




Return to list "Mammals Photographed"



The Ocelot (Leopardus pardalis) is a small wild cat native to the southwestern United States, Mexico, and Central and South America. This medium-sized cat is characterized by solid black spots and streaks on its coat, round ears, and white neck and undersides. It weighs between 8 and 15.5 kg and reaches 40–50 cm at the shoulders.
Typically active during twilight and at night, the ocelot tends to be solitary and territorial. It is efficient at climbing, leaping and swimming. It preys on small terrestrial mammals, such as armadillo, opossum, and lagomorphs.
The ocelot prefers areas with dense vegetation cover, high prey availability, and proximity to water sources.



Return to list "Mammals Photographed"